Dyslexia means writing is painful but it makes what little I do write better.


I use IT in nearly every part of my working and personal life.

I’m sad to say it but I spend most of my waking hours looking at a screen like most modern professionals.

Much of this means I have to use the written word. 

Typing on a  laptop computer 
For me reading is easier than writing – apart from reading out loud which comes with a heightened level of anxiety of mispronunciation. 

I read voraciously but do have to re-read things to make sure that I have not skipped important information or misread something.

I am a curious person and the internet is full of things that hold great fascination for me, I am therefore resolved to the fact that the effort of reading is well worth the perspiration.

It’s writing that is really painful for me.

This pain is not entirely metaphorical I used to grip my pen so hard as a kid that my hand would cramp.

 Hand gripping a pencil 
Computers and assistive technology have helped considerably. I frequently use speech recognition, word prediction and would be lost without spellcheckers.  But they don’t completely remove the trauma of writing anything longer than a few sentences.

Colleagues may have noticed my keenness to switch from instant messaging to a voice call. This is no coincidence I can express myself better when I’m speaking. 

Of course not everything can be cut down to a short message or voice call, so I am forced to write. 

If speaking is easier why write?

I push myself to write as I am now because I have ideas that I want to share.  

Because writing is painful I think long and hard before I start writing – I have been thinking about this post for days now. 

This means that my ideas take shape before I write not during the writing, although the process allows me to refine them.

I am mindful of the difficulty some people have reading so want to ensure that what I write can be understood. I am careful and ponderous thinking hard about my choice of words and I try to convey ideas concisely.

Because I am more likely to have made spelling mistakes and typos I dedicate time to proofing and editing. This is arduous as proofreading is notoriously hard for dyslexics. 

Ultimately the effort of editing and proofing is worthwhile as I can check that my message gets across as intended.

Writing is like good whiskey.

If it takes time to produce it’s probably going to be worth the wait.

I believe that ultimately the lengthy fermentation of ideas, barriers to writing and discipline to craft words into something meaningful make for something that is worth reading.

I hope that you’ll agree.

 

2 thoughts on “Dyslexia means writing is painful but it makes what little I do write better.

  1. Precisely what my dyslexic teen suffers with, now that she has learned to read her biggest hurdle is writing and convincing her that technology is her friend. A qoute from the book thief pasted on her wall ‘I have hated the words, and I have loved them, and I hope I have made them right ‘ sums her up pretty well

  2. I’ve written two novels using voice to text. It is incredibly helpful for dysgraphia. The mind moves faster than the fingers. One thing people who are dyslexic, they have spent their lives thinking in non traditional ways and often have a greater comprehension of structure out of necessity. My son who is dyslexic as well, has an exceptionally creative mind and has a wonderful feel for narrative. And true; Writing is like good whiskey.

Leave a Reply

